Author Topic: cname?  (Read 321 times)

Gar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
cname?
« on: February 06, 2011, 04:47:01 AM »
I'm trying to cname my website alliance.codespeak.org/forums so that the visible url is cityofgotham.co.cc



Can someone help me out?



cityof

Beansofham

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
cname?
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2011, 01:02:43 PM »
It seems to me to be a part of the Web host and not the of this Web site.  I think you should ask with a tech support team or another related category of that in the forums of the Web host.

James

  • Administrator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
cname?
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2011, 04:38:40 AM »
I have the intuition that Gar is a spam bot....http://codespeak.org/forum/public/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/rolleyes.gif' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':rolleyes:' />http://codespeak.org/forum/public/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/dry.gif' class='bbc_emoticon' alt='<_<' />

Vector

  • Administrator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
cname?
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2011, 04:53:55 AM »
Not at all.



He was IMing me on MSN trying to get this set up. What was weird is we were unable to make a CNAME to my sub-domain for his site, which is entirely weird....



I'm able to make CNAMEs perfectly fine on Name Cheap (without the need to park or anything).



Unfortunately, Denial's hosting doesn't allow me to either park or make add-on domains.

James

  • Administrator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
cname?
« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2011, 08:42:56 AM »
Well, can you get him to idle in our channel also? http://codespeak.org/forum/public/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/tongue.gif' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':P' />

John

  • Administrator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
cname?
« Reply #5 on: February 11, 2011, 01:22:30 AM »
Hmmm sounds like someone needs a lesson in IT classes. You need an A record for sub-domains. CNAMEs are intended if you have multiple servers with different functions. server.domain.com would be the webserver, sql.domain.com would be the sql database, ftp.domain.com would be the ftp server, etc.... Also, you have to CONFIGURE the program to accept (exclusively, or not) just those connections. Example of that would be my server (no longer runs this way!): [www.]jbls.kiatos.tk redirects to my jbls stats page whereas both kiatos.tk and blog.kiatos.tk redirected to my websites, thereby leaving ftp.kiatos.tk was my ftp server (I no longer OWN kiatos.tk).



Basically, even though they were on the same computer, you could only connect to each one was properly configured. Ofc not one was allowed to accept connections from an alternate "server name." Its pretty much all done for security purposes. And actually, when you think about it, it makes sense that why my friend called the setup mini-cloud computing. =D
[quote name=\'FireFox@Azeroth\']Scripting Run-time Error 9: Subscript out of range: Too many wires behind the desk![/quote]



[color=\"#4169E1\"]ITR Account Name: [/color][color=\"#FFA500\"]Kiatos[/color]